Through the Looking Glass and Phantasmagoria

61FLfA3uu2L._AA300_

Title: Through the Looking Glass and Phantasmagoria

Author: Lewis Carroll

Narrator: Alison Larkin

Genre: Classic Children Fiction

My Review:  4.0 Stars

Disclaimer: I received this audiobook free of charge for a honest and unbiased review.

I can honestly say I’ve never read this classic. I wasn’t really very interested in reading the books of Lewis Carroll. Considering I grew up watching Disney’s Alice in Wonderland as a child and I will admit I wasn’t a fan. I never could bring myself to read the books. Alison Larkin makes this book a great tale and an easy listen. I will say this I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and timing. Having worked in child care before this audio book would have made a great addition to story time. Alison Larkin’s voice is very soothing and can capture and keep your attention. Which is a great plus when it’s being promoted for children.

The story was also interesting and entertaining story. The story starts with Alice knitting and talking to her cats. Then she’s suddenly going through the mirror to enter the world on the other side of the looking glass. Now if you are looking for a story like Alice in Wonderland this book is not it. In fact from time to the time it can be a little confusing. And at other times it can seem to drag from one point to another. Especially the part where Alice is talking to the Red Queen. The ending is a bit abrupt with Alice just suddenly is back in the room she started with her cats. It is then when you find out that Alice’s journey into the looking glass world was all a dream.

I would recommend this book to anyone with small children. I think this would make for a nice addition for children on a long trip. For such places as airplanes and car rides. I personally listened to this in my car on my ride to work and it made the ride more enjoyable.

Author: Raven Queen

I'm odd, weird and at times a little crazy. I admit it ahead of time so no one can accuse me of misguiding them later. I'm addicted to books, anime and music. I have limited interest. Since I tend to be reading or watching anime.

Leave a Reply

