The Shell Game

31253103

Title: The Shell Game

Author: Steve Alten

Narrator: Keith Szarabajka

Publisher: Blackstone Audio

Genre: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense

Audio: Unabridged

Time: 15.0 Hours

My Review: 2.0 Stars

Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge for a honest and unbiased review.

The Shell Game written by Steve Alten is a novel based around Ashley “Ace” Futrell, an oil expert and the events leading up to and after the terrorist attack of September 11th. This book is in no way a history book. It is full of alternative thoughts and conspiracy theories. It does make reference to a lot of facts found in actual documents from investigations into the September 11th attack. Which leads a person to rethink the event of September 11th.

Steve Alten has an weird style of writing. Then again having said that I have never read any of Mr. Alten’s previous books. So with that knowledge I can’t say with 100% honesty if this book truly shows Steve Alten’s actual writing style or if this is the writing style he chose to use while writing this book.

As for Keith Szarabajka. He has a great voice for audio books. His tone changes from character to character which is always great. Personally I could listen to Keith Szarabajka read a very boring textbook on a very dry subject and would probably not get frustrated from listening to him.

Now for the reason I only gave this book 2.0 stars. In my personal opinion, Steve Alten used to many references for this book. There are points where that’s all you hear. Which is very annoying when you’re trying to listen to a work of fiction. In places it feels like Alten himself got lost in the references and goes completely off track of the story-line. While trying to jump right back into the original plot which caused me to lose the progression of the main character Ace Futrell. I found myself replaying parts over and over again because the references kept getting in the way of the story. Blackstone Audio did a good job at producing this book. Personally I feel like The Shell Game itself is very distracting and does not make for a good audio book. The points and opinions approached in this book can be interesting. If you’re interested in reading this book take my advice and get a digital or physical copy. Do not listen to the audio version. The audio version of The Shell Game will leave you disappointed and more confused then you were before you started the book.

Author: Raven Queen

I'm odd, weird and at times a little crazy. I admit it ahead of time so no one can accuse me of misguiding them later. I'm addicted to books, anime and music. I have limited interest. Since I tend to be reading or watching anime. When I'm not watching anime or reading. You'll find me either lost in thought or listening to an audiobook. See I told you limited interest.

Leave a Reply

