Soulbound (Return of the Elves, #1)

31741810

Title: Soulbound

Author: Bethany Adams

Narrators: Gabrielle de Cuir and Stefan Rudnicki

Series: The Return of the Elves Series, book 1

Publisher: Skyboat Media

Time: 10.9 Hours

Audio: Unabridged

Genre: Fiction/Fantasy

ISBN-13: 978-1-4417-0517-4

My Review:  5.0 Stars

Disclaimer: I received this book free of charge for a honest and unbiased review.

Soulbound revolves around Arlyn. Arlyn goes to Moranaia to meet her father Lord Lyrnis Dianore for the very first time. While Arlyn is in Moranaia a plot to kill Lord Lyrnis comes to light. Which also causes Arlyn and her soulbound Kai to encounter danger.

Bethany Adams did an excellent job of writing this book. She caught my attention and kept it through out the story without reverting to an over abundance of sex or mayhem. In fact this is such a great book I wouldn’t mind letting my younger niece listen to the story with me. I found myself listening to this book at every free moment I had.

Skyboat Media did a great job producing this story but, my only issue is with the two different narrators. Now before you think I thought Gabrielle de Cuir and Stefan Rudnicki did a horrible job let me stop you there. Gabrielle de Cuir and Stefan Rudnicki both did an awesome job. My issue is basically with the production. The reason is because multi-voiced audio books in my opinion need to be approached a certain way. My opinion is that multi-voiced audiobooks should be approached more like a play than a book. I would have had Gabrielle de Cuir do only female voices and Stefan Rudnicki only male voices not each do both male and female. Just picking one to do the whole book is a better option instead of having both just read different chapters. There were times when it got confusing on who was talking because the narrator had changed.

Now having said that there were also a few times when I got carried away with listening to Soulbound. I found myself lost in the book and not paying attention to things going on around me. It was great that those times didn’t happen when I was driving.

So now it comes down to two very important questions. First would I recommend this book? Yes, I would wholeheartedly recommend this book. Second do I think Soulbound By: Bethany Adams makes a good audiobook? That would have to be an another wholehearted YES! In fact Bethany Adams wrote this story in such a way that it felt like Soulbound was always intended to be a audiobook. I look forward to the next book in this series by Bethany Adams.

Author: Raven Queen

I'm odd, weird and at times a little crazy. I admit it ahead of time so no one can accuse me of misguiding them later. I'm addicted to books, anime and music. I have limited interest. Since I tend to be reading or watching anime.

Leave a Reply

