The Dragon Hunter And The Mage

51rgybpHqIL._SL300_

Title: The Dragon Hunter And The Mage

Author: V. R. Cardoso

Narrators: Todd Menesses

Series: Wounds in the Sky, book 1

Publisher: Vasco Cardoso

Time: 19 hrs and 28 mins 

Audio: English, Unabridged

Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy

My Review:  5.0 Stars

Disclaimer: I received this audiobook free of charge for a honest and unbiased review.

The Dragon Hunter And The Mage by V.R. Cardoso is about two half-brothers.  Both are sons of the Empress, but only one of them the son of the Emperor.  The Emperor has forbidden the brother  from seeing each other. Aric and Fadan defy the Emperor by meeting in secret whenever they can get away. The Emperor had also outlawed the use of magic and almost completely killed all the mages in the kingdom. The brother don’t seem to be to concerned with this law until one day while meeting in secret Aric and Fadan find a Manuel of Magic. Which leaves Aric and Fadan with two option. They can either turn the book over to the Emperor or see if one of them has the talent to use magic. They decide to test themselves to see if either has a talent for magic. When it turns out one of the brothers is gifted in the use of magic nothing is ever the same again.

I have to admit I initially approached this audiobook with no expectations and the great possibility of disappointment. Let me explain why. Over the years I have found that most self-published books are not worth the paper they are printed on or they time I wasted while reading/listening to them. The Dragon Hunter And The Mage surprised me. V. R. Cardoso made a story with a great and interesting plot. The story was a little slow moving in the beginning but well worth the wait.

V.R. Cardoso also did a great job on producing this audiobook. Especially when he picked Todd Menesses to be the narrator. Todd Menesses made this audiobook great. Which is a good thing considering this audiobook is not a quick listen. Coming in a little over 19 hours Todd Menesses made me want to keep listening. Todd Menesses makes each character distinctly different. Which is always a plus. 

So for the big question would I recommend this book? YES!! It really is worth the time. In fact I’m already looking forward to the next book to be released in this series. Now I also usually say if I would listen to this book around younger ears or not. I can say that this book is a great find. It is a wonderful listen for all ages.

Author: Raven Queen

I'm odd, weird and at times a little crazy. I admit it ahead of time so no one can accuse me of misguiding them later. I'm addicted to books, anime and music. I have limited interest. Since I tend to be reading or watching anime.

Leave a Reply

