The Healer’s Apprentice (Hagenheim #1)

7826101

TITLE: The Healer’s Apprentice

AUTHOR: Melanie Dickerson

NARRATOR: Jude Mason

PUBLISHER: Dreamscape

GENRES: Audiobook / Christian / Historical / Romance / Young Adult Fiction

FORMAT: UNABRIDGED

TIME: 8 hours 39 minutes / 7 CDs

My Review: 4.0 Stars

Disclaimer: I received this audiobook free of charge for a honest and unbiased review.

The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson is about a girl named Rose and Lord Hamlin, a future duke. Rose is the woodcutter’s daughter who has been honored with the position of healer’s apprentice. Lord Hamlin, the future duke is betrothed to a mysterious young woman in hiding. Lord Hamlin finds himself falling in love with Rose but still tries to honor his betrothal. While Rose tries to do everything she can to try and forget Lord Hamlin and the love she also feels for him. They both soon discover not every thing is as it seems.

This book has been in my to read pile for a while. Honestly I forgot I had the eBook edition of this book but I’m even happier I now have the audiobook edition.  Melanie Dickerson has a great writing style. I  have never read any books by Melanie Dickerson before I was surprised. She made the setting and time period for this book come alive. Very well written and easy to follow. Very well thought out and planned. I think I’ll have to look into a few more books that Melanie Dickerson has written in the near future.

Now for narration. Jude Mason was a great choice for narrator. Jude Mason make each character come alive in their own way. Jude Mason has such a great voice I found myself being pulled into my imagination, where Jude’s voice made the story come alive. Jude Mason made Melanie Dickerson’s book The Healer’s Apprentice an one of a kind experience.

Really I do try my best to not pay attention to the production houses until after I listen to the story and have started my reviews. Yet for some reason the way Dreamscape produces the audiobooks it makes it easy for me to tell. Maybe it’s just because I’m becoming a fan but in my opinion Dreamscape Media has done it again. They have produced a audiobook that is a great listening experience. It’s not to fast and not to slow but at the correct pace to make it a worth wild experience.

Now for main question. Would I recommend this book? Yes! Now keep in mind this is clearly Christian Fiction. God is mentioned a lot. There is a lot of praying and even Bible verses quoted. Yet none of this takes away from the story it actually just made it better. So yes I would recommend this book.

Author: Raven Queen

I'm odd, weird and at times a little crazy. I admit it ahead of time so no one can accuse me of misguiding them later. I'm addicted to books, anime and music. I have limited interest. Since I tend to be reading or watching anime.

Leave a Reply

