The Sixth Victim

the sixth victim

Title: The Sixth Victim

Author: Tessa Harris

Narrator: Fiona Hardingham and Gemma Dawson

Series: Constance Piper Mystery

Publisher: Blackstone Audio

Genres: Audiobook / Fiction / Mystery & Detective

Format: UNABRIDGED

Time: 10.80 Hours / 9 CDs

My Review: 5.0 Stars

Disclaimer: I received this audiobook free of charge for an honest and unbiased review.

Tessa Harris’ book The Sixth Victim is based on two different characters Constance Piper, a flower girl and Emily Tindall, a missionary teacher and Constance’s mentor. The Sixth Victim is placed in Whitehall during the time of Jack the Ripper’s murder spree. SO of course Jack’s murders are mentioned frequently. Yet the story has Constance spending most of the book trying to figure out where and why Emily Tindall disappeared. While Constance is doing this she meets some higher class people, has new experiences and finds out somethings about herself she didn’t know before.

Tessa Harris did a great job with this book. It was very well thought out and interesting. Tessa Harris’ writing style in this book was great. The Sixth Victim is written from both main character’s point of view. In the past I’ve read several books from multiple character’s points of view and more often than not I’ve found that they fail to achieve their purpose. This story doesn’t. Tessa Harris writes this book where the advancement of the story occurs at a steady pace. While there seems to be very little overlap of the characters’ observations the plot isn’t construed. All in all a great story, I look forward to reading more books written by Tessa Harris.

The way Tessa Harris wrote The Sixth Victim makes it great to have two narrators. The narrators for The Sixth Victim are Fiona Hardingham and Gemma Dawson. Fiona Hardingham and Gemma Dawson did a great job on the narration. Fiona Hardingham’s and Gemma Dawson’s voices are great for audiobooks. Both made their character distinctive and interesting. You can instantly tell them apart which is great in my opinion for a multiple person audiobook. Fiona Hardingham’s and Gemma Dawson’s diction and enunciation made this audiobook great for listeners.

The production house for this audiobook is Blackstone Audio.  I seem to be having a love/hate relationship with Blackstone Audio. I love their audiobooks then I hate them. I will admit I love The Sixth Victim. Blackstone Audio did a great job on producing this audiobook. The production for this audiobook is perfect. There were no fluctuation in sound and at the right tempo for a great listening experience. My only issue is that in one track close to the end of this book it seems to repeat half-way through.  Other than that all good.

Now for the big question. “Would I recommend this book?” My answer would have to be Yes! This is a very interesting story. There are some words said and scenes described in this book that parents might not want little kids to hear. So having kept that in mind I listened to this audiobook in at work with the door closed and at home in private.

Author: Raven Queen

I'm odd, weird and at times a little crazy. I admit it ahead of time so no one can accuse me of misguiding them later. I'm addicted to books, anime and music. I have limited interest. Since I tend to be reading or watching anime. When I'm not watching anime or reading. You'll find me either lost in thought or listening to an audiobook. See I told you limited interest.

Leave a Reply

