Spliced

36314942

Title: Spliced

Author: Jon McGoran

Narrator: Sophie Amoss

Publisher: Blackstone Audio

Genres: Audiobook / Fiction / Fantasy/ Science Fiction / Young Adult

Format: UNABRIDGED

Time: 12hrs 30mins / 10 CDs

My Review: 3.0 Stars

Disclaimer: I received this audiobook free of charge for an honest and unbiased review

Jon McGoran’s book Spliced is based on three main characters, Jimi, Del and Rex. Del is obsessed with becoming a chimera. After undergoing an operation to become a chimera Del gets sick. Jimi and Rex, another chimera, take Del to a doctor called a fixer. While Del is getting treated by the fixer the Police raid the clinic. When they leave Jimi and Rex go inside searching for Del only to find he’s gone. After that everything seems to change for Jimi and not all of the changes are for the best.

Jon McGoran wrote a great book. Spliced has a great plot. The story is interesting and not complicated. Very well written and it’s easy to see the focus was pointed towards young adults. Spliced is a sort of dystopia, sci-fi based thriller with genetically altered teens fighting for survival. Yet the twist and turns in this book make for a great ride and not a cliché. Spliced is not just for young adults but for almost any age in my opinion.

Sophie Amoss is the narrator for Jon McGoran’s book Spliced. Sophie Amoss does a wonderful job portraying all the characters in Spliced. I love how Sophie Amoss makes each character distinctive and unique. Sophie Amoss made the characters come alive. Sophie Amoss’s diction and enunciation made this audiobook great for listeners.. I look forward to hearing more audiobooks narrated by Sophie Amoss.

The production house for this audiobook is…  drum roll please… just kidding Blackstone Audio. If you’ve read any of my prior review you’ll see I’m having a love/hate relationship with Blackstone Audio. I love their audiobooks then I hate them but for this audiobook I have to admit I’m straddling the fence. I don’t really love Spliced but I don’t hate it either. The production for this audiobook is exactly what listeners expect and want. There is no fluctuation in sound and is set at just the right tempo for a great listening experience.

Now for the big question “Would I recommend this book?” Yes I would recommend this book. It really is a good book and great to listen to around younger ears. Yep there’s a but, here is my only issues. I felt it could have gone into more details in places. I also felt like the last part of the book was rushed. I when I’m reading or listening and the story just speeds up towards the end. It seem to me like the author was asked to hurry it up and finish the story before it had to many pages. Which in my opinion ends with the ending being rushed and me disappointed.

Author: Raven Queen

I'm odd, weird and at times a little crazy. I admit it ahead of time so no one can accuse me of misguiding them later. I'm addicted to books, anime and music. I have limited interest. Since I tend to be reading or watching anime. When I'm not watching anime or reading. You'll find me either lost in thought or listening to an audiobook. See I told you limited interest.

Leave a Reply

